Last week I realized that it had been almost a year, an ENTIRE freaking YEAR, since I’ve last played a tennis match. My last match was in May of 2014, so 10 months. I was 30+ pounds heavier then too, and feeling miserable about my body, and that’s not even counting my knee pain. So, I waited 3 months for surgery because I had to take several trips and get the son off to college. End of August I finally had surgery. We were hoping for a 3 month recovery, but it’s been more than 6. The last two times I hit balls, it hurt. I couldn’t walk the next day, and totally and completely sucked.

Finally, a beautiful day and NO pain!
Finally, a beautiful day and NO pain!

But guess what?? Sunday afternoon, I hit balls, even ran for some. I served, volleyed and hit hard groundies. Oh my good golly gosh, it felt so good! THERE WAS NO PAIN!!!  People were walking by the court saying, “Oh my gosh is that you? I can’t believe you’re here finally!” I’m so grateful for my buddy Wendy for offering to hit with me even after she’d already played a match that morning. Made my year, that did.

I even hiked the next morning with minimal soreness. My fingers are crossed that I can get a doubles practice match in before the season kicks in!! Hurry up Saturday!

