I’m amazed at how my definition of “blowout” has changed over the last 73 days. My son and hubby took me out for an early birthday dinner since on my real birthday, I’ll be laid up post-knee surgery. I ate more than I would have normally on this diet, but I found that I didn’t really want to snarf, even with the excuse of a real celebration. I say real because once I started on this Ideal Protein thing, I realized that I tended to treat every meal as a celebration. Eating was really emotional, not so much anymore. (Hooray!! That’s a wee victory in and of itself!)

The boys took me to Perry’s Steakhouse famous for it’s 15 pound pork chop. Okay, it’s not really 15 pounds, but it’s ridiculous. I LOVE that pork chop. Even when we split it, I bring home leftovers that give us a couple more meals. Here’s what I ate:

Crabcake, yum!
Crabcake, yum!

1 small crab cake (this had gluten, but was delish)

1/2 spring salad

4 oz (at most) of pork chop

1 tiny cheesecake (about the diameter of a quarter and about 1 inch tall … about two bites)

1 small creme brullee (shallow dish about 3 inch diameter)

2 bites of hubby’s potatos

2 bites of bread with butter

1 vodka with grapefruit juice and soda

So, yes, more than I would normally have eaten, but not very bad at all. I knew that I had to eat very little of each course to get it down. We were disappointed that the desserts that we LOVE there, were unavailable and we had to opt for the trio of tiny desserts, however, it saved me a TON of un-needed calories. The few bites of sugar I had were more than enough.

I really enjoyed my celebration with two of my favorite men. It’s weird that one’s away at school, he was missed. The bill was much cheaper though! He got food texts, and I got a Happy Early Birthday message. If you have a male college student, you probably know that getting a response at all is a gift!

I’m pleased with my performance, but mostly I am happy about how I felt about eating… even celebratory eating. I didn’t want to overeat, and a few bites of everything was plenty. There were no feelings of deprivation! Maybe that was the vodka at work? Cheers!

