Join the DietBet fun!
Join the DietBet fun!

You willing to put your money where your mouth is? A few days ago, I found an app called PACT, that is basically an accountability app for working out. You pledge that if you miss your workout, you pay $5. However, I had several responses from readers saying that the app didn’t work for them because it didn’t recognize private workout facilities, like at an apartment complex, or at home. That would be a problem for me too.

However, you wiley readers also introduced me to Diet Bet. Now, we’ve all probably taken part in a winner-takes-all diet bet at one time or another, or many times, in some cases, but this one is goal oriented. You win if you stay in the game, and lose whatever the goal is for that game. Some of the games go for 30 days, some go for 6 months or more. Some of the pots are really big! Just saw one game with $57,200 in the pot. There are 437 players who all put in $25. So, if you reach the goal of the game, which might be 4% loss, then, you get your money back plus some, because 100% of the people will not reach the goal. That’s pretty much a given knowing how hard it is to stick with diets. Yes, I’m a pro at the start, uh…. re-start game.

So, in that spirit, I’ve started a 50PoundMonkey Bet. The buy in is $35 (that’s what they recommend). Evidently $35 is the magic number in terms of motivation and 30% more winnings!! The goal is 4% in 4 weeks. They have a whole system that you have to follow to be sure everyone is honest. Go check it out. I hope you’ll join me. I will post all the winners names on my site! If you’ve got a blog about your weight loss journey, I’ll even link to it.  This is all in the name of fun and motivation.

To be perfectly clear, I am not running this bet and I have no control over the money, or who wins or loses. It’s all up on http://www.dietbet.com. They’re in charge, I merely started a new game.

Who’s in?

