The Greatest Sporting Event IN THE WORLD
The Greatest Sporting Event IN THE WORLD

Did I just blow this thing? It’s World Cup time!!! WORLD CUP I tell you. What the hell was I thinking starting this thing during World Cup? I’ll spend most of my life, for the next 30 days, in a bar or glued to the big screen. I wasn’t thinking, that’s what. Brain dead, hair-brained. Balls!

My giddiness was bubbling out of me, despite the pounding migraine, at my client meeting at the bar restaurant this afternoon. I met a fellow soccer fan and really great client to discuss business while watching soccer. Really, I was working! I even watched him eat an entire plate of beef nachos that smelled freaking amazing, dripping with cheese and meat and jalapenos… (sobbing) AND that were piled a foot deep. He even made yum noises with a little grin on his face, have I mentioned he’s a rat? I watched quietly (f-bombs quelled just like the lady I am) and watched as he drank a few IPA’s. I did not have ONE bite, or ONE sip of that sinful slop. Maybe the migraine was a blessing because after taking that he-man migraine med, I wasn’t about to drink, even though this bar restaurant has a ridiculously ridiculous Cosmo. Instead I drank two full pints of water with lemon. Yes, I know you don’t believe me, but I did it. Who am I and what did I do with the real me?

What I want to know is, did I blow it by eating some pork lettuce wraps? I didn’t eat much, maybe two or three ounces, and I know it probably wasn’t lean, and the sauce probably had some sugar in it? Because seriously, if I get my first week under my belt with all this sacrifice, pain and agony and my scale still thinks it’s funny…

ballI will curl up in a ball… a soccer ball (of course) and roll right off this diet. I will.

