Today, I drove to the University of Texas Fitness Institute and had my (iDXA)  body composition scan. I faced it. I don’t like what it said, but, there it is in living color. The 7 minute scan is pretty much like a bone density scan, with low radiation. It’s a non-invasive scan, but let me tell you, there’s no way to hide… no sucking in will help. Considered to be very accurate, it gives you reports on the fat in various parts of your body including legs, arms torso and hips. They even estimated the amount of visceral fat in your abdominal cavity near your organs. UGH.

The good news is that I have good bone density and a high amount of lean muscle mass. The bad news is that I’ve got a long way to go. I knew that, but here it is staring me in the face with real, indisputable numbers. My goal is to make my body fat number go down, a lot, while maintaining my lean muscle mass.

It was obvious to Julie, my fitness guru, that I know what I’m supposed to be doing and I like to exercise. I tend to think I’m doing it, but I’m really inconsistent. For the next 3 months, I will do my weight workouts twice a week and my cardio at least 3 times, probably more. I will track my exercise in My Fitness Pal (50poundMonkey) and keep my caloric intake around 1500-1600. I promised to eat a few veggies too (gulp). That’s really the test right there.

It's a starting place
It’s a starting place

Here’s my scan. It’s horrible, I know, but remember I’m laying down and everything flattens out. Okay, it looks awful. Don’t judge. You have NO idea how hard this is to post. I keep telling myself it’s just a starting point. We can compare the next one in three months.

It’s time to burn some fat, people!! (I almost left out that comma, and that could have been tragic!) It starts tonight with a hike with a hubby and a chubby Weimeraner.

