The bathroom scale is a lying b*tch. There, straight up, I’ve said it. I hate that freaking scale. And as much as I hate it, and know that it lies to me, I go back to it. Like an abused puppy, I return with my tail tucked in hoping I won’t be kicked in the teeth only to step on the platform and be promptly and enthusiastically slapped in the face. Simultaneously, an angry, mean and alien voice in my head says, “you big-fat-overgrown-plain-brown-ugly-stupid cow…  (slight shrug and head tilt) nice for a cow though.”  As you may have surmised by this point, I’ve GAINED about 8 pounds. I’m feeling dejected, and royally and obscenely pissed with myself. I don’t hate myself, don’t get me wrong, I am a nice cow. <grin> Part of me wonders if even some of the gain is muscle. Maybe? Please?

This awesome news comes a day after my Arrosti doc told me to lay off CrossFit for about 8 weeks due to my lingering achilles / calf (ha! apropos, moooo)  issues. So, I’ve been doing a lot of digging around in my heart and head. What has worked for me before, why did it work, how can I do it again and will it work with a lower impact/less explosive movement type exercise? Tennis is enough of an impact sport, and I’m still playing, but, my other exercise needs to be more gentle for now. DING DING DING, I’ve got it! Body For Life worked well for me. I looked amazing when I was done with the 12 weeks and could bench press over 100 pounds. It worked because my ex-husband, who was doing it with me, was a task master (in a good way) and I was a wee bit competitive. It worked because I was tracking my body fat percentage, not the scale. (Alarm bells here!!!) Yes, it’s much lower impact, but very much weight lifting, clean eating and interval training. The hardest part is the body fat tracking.

Since my last successful round of BFL, new technology has come out in the realm of body fat testing. UT offers a DEXA scan which is very much like bone density testing (very low x-ray like test lasting about 6 minutes), but it focuses on soft tissue (fat). Traditionally, body fat tests broke results into fat mass, and lean mass. This technology breaks the data into 3 categories: fat, bone and muscle.  I’ve scheduled my appointment and will report on how it went and what I learn. My contact was very enthusiastic, and her specialty is weight loss. My happy bells are going off in my head. These are the numbers I need. I may not like them, but my goal will be to change them and I think that I can live with a higher number on the scale (b*tch!)  if my body fat percentage is healthy and awesome!

I’m an athlete, and muscle weighs more than fat… right? RIGHT????

