Desperation is setting in. Well, re-setting in. I gave myself a wee break while healing my broken wrist. I got back on the courts when I got my hard cast only to strain my Achilles tendon and be sidelined again. The sidelines weren’t too bad only because of the Coffee ice-cream with smushed up gluten free cookies… Oh, who am I kidding? It sucked, ice-cream and all. I don’t know about you, but while I’m enjoying my ice-cream, I’m also mentally and emotionally abusing myself for enjoying it. AND the cherry on top? My blood sugar 3-month average blood test came back high. What? That’s never happened. My fasting is always borderline, but I exercise a lot so my 3 month average is always well within range. Because I had literally spent those said 3 months “sidelined with an ice-cream mustache” I talked my doc into giving me another three months before she declared me diabetic.

I’m kicking ass and taking names. Well, I thought I was until I got on the scale today to see that my 1.5 pound loss is now just a .5 pound loss. Here’s how I achieved that.

For the past two weeks, I’ve been wearing my Body Media Fit arm band. I’ve been (mostly) logging my food and I’ve been shooting for 10,000 steps a day while staying within my calorie budget. I’ve played LOTS of fairly decent tennis (couple days I had 3 matches and a few days I had 2 singles matches in that day), I’ve walked, I’ve jogged a very tiny bit and I’ve lifted weights (once…) And guess what? I’ve been pretty danged good at it. In 14 days, I lost 1.5 pounds, but on the 15th day I was up a pound. Glory Glory Mother Father! Really?

What I’ve discovered is that I have a very energy efficient body. I mean there’s no other way to describe it. One Sunday, I went out to the backyard early and spent 6 hours in the 100 degree heat digging up rocks, putting them into the wheel barrow, moving them and unloading them. I moved tons of extra soil and mulch because we removed the landscaping timbers from around our trees. I used boulder type rocks to break a cement border that was around a tree by raising it over my head repeatedly and throwing down hard on the cement. I wasn’t messing around. I was working hard, sweating and telling myself that my armband was recording it all and would sing my praises when I sync’d. Uh…. no… I had almost 10,000 steps from working in my back yard, but it reported that I had been sedentary. Really? If that’s sedentary, just shoot me now. Please. Really.

The one thing that I LOVE about the armband is that it actually tracks your sleep and your sleep patterns. I’ve been getting about 6 hours. That’s not enough. It just isn’t and it’s probably one of my problems shedding pounds.

I’m going to stay at it. If in the meantime, you want to check out the Body Media Fit armband, you can go here. I’m using the LYNC version because I love having the immediate gratification when it blue tooths to my phone.

